Minutes of SRP Meet at Lucknow 7-9 June 2013

Members present:


1- Dr. H C Verma                               hcverma@iitk.ac.in,

2- Dr. Ajay Mahajan                           aaadim@gmail.com,

3- Dr. Amit Jana                                 ajana2004@rediffmail.com,

4- Dr. Arun Yadav                              arunyadav25@rediffmail.com,

5- Mr. Amit Kumar Bajpai                  sopanbajpai@gmail.com

6- Mr. Brijesh Dixit                             dixit.brajesh@rediffmail.com,

7- Dr. M S Marwaha                           marwahams@yahoo.com,

8- Dr. R K Mitra                                 mitra_rk2005@yahoo.co.in,

9- Dr. Rakesh Awasthi                       rakeshawa@gmail.com,

10- Dr. Rakesh Singh                         rakeshpu@yahoo.co.in,





Dr R K Mitra was the local coordinator. Arrangement for stay for all outstation participants was made in Oasis hotel. The SRP Meet was combined with Anveshika Coordinators Meet as most of our SRPs are also Anveshika Coordinators. All participants reached Lucknow by the morning of 7th June.


The Inaugural session was held in Regional Science City. In the inaugural session and some of the later sessions on 7th June were open for selected Lucknow Science teachers and students.  The Science City Director Mr Umesh Kumar was very enthusiastic to host the whole programme. Dr Jaya Pandey of Amity University and her students anchored the inaugural session. The Chief Gust was Dr Abhishek Kumar, the Science and Technology Minister in UP Govt. Mr Umesh Kumar welcomed all participants and expressed the hope that such initiatives by Physics teachers will improve the interest of younger generation towards Physics in particular and Science in general. Dr H C Verma laid down the motivation behind this whole initiative and explained the way Anveshikas and Utsahi Physics Teachers Group.


Dr Abhishek  Kumar gave a highly motivated speech on the need of science and technology in development of the nation and expressed  solidarity with the efforts made by our group.


The next session was display of new experiments by Anveshika Coordinators and SRPs. In the pre lunch session, Dr M S Marwaha, Dr Rakesh Awasthi, Ms Pragya Nopany and Mr Amit Kumar Bajpai showed several new experiments. As local teachers and students were also present, the display and discussion was in IIP Workshop mode. In this session, there was an invited lecture-cum-Demo by Dr Jaya Pandey and her students on Everyday Chemistry.


The SRPs had several rounds of meetings most of which were held at Manford Inter College premises. The presentations included Annual Report by all SRPs, Discussion of future activities, Reconstitution  of SRP group, Use of the website www.utsahiphysics.com , Management issues and policy making,  and so on.


All SRPs visited Mitra-IAPT Anveshika on 8th June. They looked at the experiments there and also had one round of discussion.  





The following decisions were made.




1.       Standardization of IIPs (one day workshop) was discussed. It was felt that a standard package of experiments as discussed in Patna Meeting was not feasible as SRPs come up with new experiments. However, it was emphasized that all SRPs should be well conversant with the theory of these experiments and they should initiate theoretical discussions after showing the experiments.



New/Old SRPs


2.   The minimum expected  from SRPs in a year was again discussed and the criteria in place was again approved.  (a) A programme to 50 teachers and 200 students. The break up can vary with 4 students equivalent to 1 teacher. (b) Development of 2 new experiments. It can be adopted from known sources but, should not be a popular one which many of the SRPs will already be knowing. If an SRP is not active for two successive years he/she may be allowed to quit the group.

3.      For new SRP, the person should  have done at least 2 NWUPTs.

4.   The following teachers were inducted in SRP team if they consent for the same: Sh Manoranjan Kumar from Pilani and Ms Pragya Nopany from Delhi.


5.      Mr Satish Yadav is dropped from SRP group as his commitment was not up to the mark. Mr Laxmikant Sharma from Pilibhit, Mr Amarendra Narayan from Patna and Mr Vinayak Katdare from Mumbai had been active in Physics education but their involvement in the group had been less in recent years. As Vinayak Ji is involved deeply in Olympiad programme at HBCSE, he can provide new exper8iments to the SRPs to include in IIPs and also help in documentation. Amarendra Ji and Laxmikant Ji have not been able to attend several SRP meets, though independently they are doing a good work.


Documentation and Reports


6.      All SRPs should write a monthly report of their activities and send to Dr R K Awasthi. Dr Awasthi will monitor and persuade this activity. This report will be uploaded on UPT website.

7.   If impressive articles (not reports) are published in Newspapers or magazines, the SRP in that region should sent it to Dr Rakesh Kumar Singh for storage and compilation. There are online magazines. Dr Rakesh Kumar Singh can look into these and arrange for posting articles of UPT on there.

8.   SRPs should  upload reports of their individual programmes and their  profiles on UPT website in proper formats.

9.      SRPs who are also Anveshika coordinators must write about their Anveshika activity for IAPT Bulletin. Dr Rakesh Awasthi was requested to be in touch with them and persuade them for the same.

10.        All SRPs should compile the experiments write up on electrostatics and current electricity and send it to Dr H C Verma. A time freame of 3 moths was suggested for this.


Next Meets

11.        Next SRP Meet (2014)  will be hosted by Dr Amit Kumar Jana at Kolkata. It can be combined with a two-day Anveshika Meet and a research exposure programme.

12.   A visit to GAIL in Oraiyya was proposed where SRPs can see the working of power plant and other units. Dr Rakesh Awasthi will look into the possibility in association with Shri Brajesh Dixit.



Other Guidelines/Discussions


The following general guidelines were suggested.

1.   There should be a mechanism of impact assessment of SRPs work. Recommendation for NWUPT and subsequent performance of the selected teachers in NWUPT is one such possible criterion. The recommendation of three teachers from west Bengal by Dr Amit K Jana was appreciated as the three were very enthusiastic. Recommendation of Mr V Achuta from Banglore by Mr Marwaha was greatly applauded.

Development of new experiment which can be integrated with classroom teaching is another good indicator. No of teachers adopting these expt can give us impact analysis parameters.

      More such indicators are to be involved.

2.   SRPs must extend the theoretical concepts from the standard experiments.